Skip to content

Recommended reading

2010/07/07

Today was extremely taxing, so instead of writing, I’ll recommend some good things others have read. If you’re interested in software development, each of these should be an informative and satisfying read.

Why not follow Tim Harvey‘s lead and snag a friend and work through these together?

Clean Code: A Handbook of Agile Software Craftsmanship

Uncle Bob’s classic book has been one of the best things ever to happen to my code.

The Pragmatic Programmer: From Journeyman to Master

One of the first works I ever read on the subject of software development, this offering got me into the prags, and I haven’t stopped reading their stuff since!

Structure and Interpretation of Computer Programs – 2nd Edition (MIT Electrical Engineering and Computer Science)

In his Keynote at RailsConf 2010, Uncle Bob (Robert Martin) recommended that all developers read this book right away! I haven’t read it yet, but it’s #1 on my list when I finish some of the ones I started prior to watching him give this talk.

Short, but hopefully sweet; enjoy!

From → Programming

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

